Column chart showing the distribution of fields medals for mathematics by nation from the inauguration of the award in 1936 to the last award in 2014. Fields medal, also known as the Nobel for mathematics  has been awarded mostly to nationals of the developed countries. 85% of all awards have been gathered by Europe (58%) and North America (25%). Asia Pacific and the rest of the world account for 16% only.

Fields medal, also known as the Nobel for mathematics has been awarded mostly to nationals of the developed countries. 85% of all awards have been gathered by Europe (58%) and North America (25%). Asia Pacific and the rest of the world account for 16% only.

France honors its reputation as the homeland of the great Descartes with no less than 12 medals. Some French critics claim that the extraordinary performance of the country in the field of mathematics is explained by the fact that research in this discipline is mostly an individual endeavor, requiring little more than paper, pencil, time and the occasional access to super computer power, which is practically costless if compared with research work in other disciplines such as biology, physics or physiology, unachievable without armies of research workers and costly laboratories.


Fields Medal for Mathematics
The Complete List 1936 - 2014






Affiliation at Time of Award

1936JesseDouglasMaleUnited States1897Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
1936Lars ValerianAhlforsMaleFinland1907Harvard University
1950AtleSelbergMaleNorway1917Institute for Advanced Study
1950LaurentSchwartzMaleFrance1915Nancy University
1954Jean-PierreSerreMaleFrance1926Collège de France
1954KunihikoKodairaMaleJapan1915Princeton University
1958RenéThomMaleFrance1923University of Strasbourg
1958Klaus FriedrichRothMaleUnited Kingdom1925London University
1962John WillardMilnorMaleUnited States1931Princeton University
1962LarsHörmanderMaleSweden1931Stockholm University
1966Michael FrancisAtiyahMaleUnited Kingdom1929University of Oxford
1966Paul JosephCohenMaleUnited States1934Stanford University
1966AlexanderGrothendieckMaleFrance1928University of Paris
1966StephenSmaleMaleUnited States1930University of California
1970Serge P.NovikovMaleSoviet Union1938Belorusskii University
1970John GriggsThompsonMaleUnited States1932University of Chicago
1970AlanBakerMaleUnited Kingdom1939University of Cambridge
1970HeisukeHironakaMaleJapan1931Harvard University
1974EnricoE BombieriMaleItaly1946University of Pisa
1974David BryantMumfordMaleUnited States1937Harvard University
1978Pierre RenéDeligneMaleBelgium1944Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques  
1978Daniel G.QuillenMaleUnited States1940Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
1978Charles LouisFeffermanMaleUnited States1949Princeton University
1978Gregori AleksandrovitchMargulisMaleSoviet Union1946University of Moscow
1982AlainConnesMaleFrance1947Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques  
1982Shing-TungYauMaleChina / United States1949Institute for Advanced Study
1982William P.ThurstonMaleUnited States1946Princeton University
1986GerdFaltingsMaleGermany1954Princeton University
1986Simon KDonaldsonMaleUnited Kingdom1957University of Oxford
1986Michael H.FreedmanMaleUnited States1951University of California
1990EdwardWittenMaleUnited States1951Princeton University
1990VladimirDrinfeldMaleSoviet Union1954Steklov Mathematical Institute
1990Vaughan F.R.JonesMaleNew Zealand1952Columbia University
1990ShigefumiMoriMaleJapan1951Harvard University
1994Efim I.ZelmanovMaleRussia1955University of Wisconsin (now at the University of Chicago)
1994Pierre-LouisLionsMaleFrance1956Université de Paris-Dauphine, CEREMADE
1994Jean-ChristopheYoccozMaleFrance1957Université de Paris-Sud (Orsay)
1994JeanBourgainMaleBelgium1954Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques  
1998Curtis T.McMullenMaleUnited States1958Harvard University
1998Maxim KontsevichMaleRussia1964Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques  
1998W. TimothyGowersMaleUnited Kingdom1963University of Cambridge
1998Richard E.BorcherdsMaleUnited Kingdom1959University of Cambridge
2002Vladimir VoevodskyMaleRussia1966Institute for Advanced Study
2002LaurentLafforgueMaleFrance1966Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques  
2006WendelinWernerMaleFrance1968Université Paris-Sud
2006TerenceTaoMaleAustralia1975University of California
2006AndreiOkounkovMaleRussia1969Princeton University
2006GrigoriPerelman ²MaleRussia1966 
2010Elon Lindenstrauss MaleIsrael1970Hebrew University of Jerusalem
2010Ngô BaoChâuMaleVietnam / France1972Université Paris-Sud 11 and Institute for Advanced Study
2010Stanislav K. Smirnov MaleRussie1970University of Geneva
2010Cédric Villani MaleFrance1973École Normale Supérieure de Lyon and Institut Henri Poincaré
2014ArturAvila Cordeiro de MeloMaleBrazil / France1979CNRS - Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu-Paris Rive Gauche
2014ManjulBhargavaMaleCanada / United States1974Princeton University,
2014Martin Hairer MaleAustria1975University of Warwick
2014MaryamMirzakhani FemaleIran1977Stanford University
¹ As double nationals, Avila, Bhargava, Châu and Yau are accounted for twice, once for each of the respective two nationalities.
² Declined the award.


Sources: see International Mathematical Union


areppim logo  areppim: information, pure and simple