Column chart of the top 5 Formula 1 championship contenders in 2010. Number 1 and world champion is Vettel with 256 points, followed by Alonso with 252 points, Webber with 242 points, Hamilton with 240, and Button with 214 points

Vettel is the champion! The goddess of luck did not assist Alonso in the last Grand Prix of the 2010 season. His 7th position allowed Vettel to end the year with a 4-point lead, enough to seize the champion's title, a first in his young career. The championship remained undecided until the very last race – any of the top five drivers could have grasped it.

An interesting question to ask is how does the superstar Michael Schumacher feel about his failed comeback ? After having been the most often crowned champion in the history of Formula 1, he gave a pale performance, ending in the 9th place. It looks like a big mistake.


Formula 1
2010 Drivers Championship

Position as at 14 November 2010 after Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi






1SebastianVettelGermanyRBR-Renault 256
2FernandoAlonsoSpainFerrari 252
3MarkWebberAustraliaRBR-Renault 242
4LewisHamiltonUnited KingdomMcLaren-Mercedes 240
5JensonButtonUnited KingdomMcLaren-Mercedes 214
6FelipeMassaBrazilFerrari 144
7NicoRosbergGermanyMercedes GP 142
8RobertKubicaPolandRenault 136
9MichaelSchumacherGermanyMercedes GP 72
10RubensBarrichelloBrazilWilliams-Cosworth 47
11AdrianSutilGermanyForce India-Mercedes 47
12KamuiKobayashiJapanBMW Sauber-Ferrari 32
13VitalyPetrovRussiaRenault 27
14NicoHulkenbergGermanyWilliams-Cosworth 22
15VitantonioLiuzziItalyForce India-Mercedes 21
16SebastienBuemiSwitzerlandSTR-Ferrari 8
17Pedrode la RosaSpainBMW Sauber-Ferrari 6
18NickHeidfeldGermanyBMW Sauber-Ferrari 6
19JaimeAlguersuariSpainSTR-Ferrari 5
20HeikkiKovalainenFinlandLotus-Cosworth 0
21JarnoTrulliItalyLotus-Cosworth 0
22KarunChandhokIndiaHRT-Cosworth 0
23BrunoSennaBrazilHRT-Cosworth 0
24Lucasdi GrassiBrazilVirgin-Cosworth 0
25TimoGlockGermanyVirgin-Cosworth 0
26SakonYamamotoJapanHRT-Cosworth 0
27ChristianKlienAustriaHRT-Cosworth 0


Sources: see Formula 1


arrow   back to Formula 1 2010 season

areppim logo  areppim: information, pure and simple